Frequently Asked Questions

Note, the Texas Department of Public Safety has a great FAQ page as well. Click on a category below to read FAQs.

A) Courses We Offer (4)

The best place to start once you’ve made the decision to ride. Covers the basics of operating a motorcycle and safety-oriented mental strategies. Motorcycles and helmets are provided for your use. Successful completion of this course, consisting of five hours of formal classroom activities and ten hours of riding instruction conducted over two or three sessions, including the Basic Riders Course Segment 1: E-course, will waive the license test unless you are a minor. The course may also earn you an insurance discount.

Yes, effective September 1, 2009, a law passed that required successful completion of an MSF Basic RiderCourse*. This applies to all riders 18 years of age and older or if you held a motorcycle license which has since lapsed.

If you are under 18 years of age: as a minor, you must have a valid learner’s permit or driver’s license to take our courses. In addition, participants under 18 years of age must have medical consent and course waiver forms signed by a parent or guardian in person at the training location in front of the coach or the forms must be notarized.

PDF files will open in a new window.

If you have a motorcycle with a “J” or “K” restriction you may take the motorcycle on-cycle skill test at your local Driver License office instead of taking the Course.

For exact verbiage of the statute, read Texas Transportation Code §521.148

*Note, we now offer a one-day class to getting your motorcycle license IF you are an experienced rider. It is called the BRC2uLW (we didn’t make up the name). You can read about it here.

Total Rider doesn’t currently offer 3-Wheel classes at this time.  You may want to check out the Can-Am site for more info and where classes may be offered.

Note, if you are trained on a 3WMC your license will be restricted to only a 3WMC.  A 2-wheel “M” endorsement covers all 2 and 3-wheeled motorcycles.  Students are required to use three-wheeled vehicles during the riding portion of the class.

No, Total Rider does not currently offer the ARC/MSRC.  The Advanced RiderCourse is designed for experienced motorcyclists and includes advanced riding techniques on a full-size range. To find an ARC class near you, visit www.dps.texas.gov/msb and select Training Locations, then look for a location in your city that has the word Advanced in their Curriculum description.

Attn Army: The Department of the Army POV Task Force has affirmed that the ARC will substitute for the Military Sport Bike Course for sport bike riders, and will be the equivalent of the BRC2 for Non-Sport bikes.

B) Our Policies (7)

Our refund and cancellation policy can be found here.

Students unable to keep pace with the class or who pose a hazard to themselves or others may be dismissed from the class by the coach.

There will be no refunds, pro-rated or in full, should a student be dismissed by the coach.

Please understand that these courses have group learning format that limits the ability of the instructors to provide individual instructions to students. These courses are mentally and physically demanding, and weather conditions can increase the stress on students.    

See our Refund and Cancellation policy if you are unable to attend the course at all.

See our What if I get counseled out of a course FAQ if your instructor has counseled you out.

Please understand we are restricted by Texas Department of Public Safety and Motorcycle Safety Foundation rules and regulations as to what we can do if you are not able to complete the course for reasons other than those above.

If you are under 18 years of age: As a minor, you must have a valid learner’s permit or driver’s license to take our courses. In addition, participants under 18 years of age must have medical consent and course waiver forms signed by a parent or guardian in person at the training location or the forms must be notarized.

*PDF files will open in a new window.

Under Title III of ADA requirements, we want to let you know that we will make every reasonable accommodation to any ASL interpreter you provide. However, we cannot assume the undue financial burden of hiring an ASL interpreter as it would severely alter the nature of the service we provide. The Motorcycle Safety Foundation may have grant money to offset the cost to you and other area schools may provide services more to your liking than we can provide at this time.

Please call our office to discuss resources we can share with you.

Yes, we do have loaner helmets students may use… however, we only have a limited number of sizes, and can’t guarantee our helmets will offer a proper fit. We strongly recommend bringing your own helmet. Inexpensive, 3/4 or full-face style helmets can be purchased at local motorcycle shops. TR doesn’t recommend half helmets, tho. 🙂

  • BRCu: No
  • 3WBRCu: No
  • BRC2uLW: Yes

We do NOT allow students to use personal motorcycles or scooters for the beginner BRCU class.  Even though a personal bike may be small it is typically not geared for the constant low parking lot speeds and maneuvers, thus increasing wear & tear on the clutch and transmission components. Also, liquid cooled motorcycles don’t do well in a training environment, which also increases wear on the motorcycles.

If a student crashes a training motorcycle they usually are not as upset as they would be on their personal bike. Additionally, a mechanical failure on a personal bike could cause a safety problem on the range, resulting in the student being dismissed from the class. From a safety perspective, BRC students typically don’t have a motorcycle license, and we don’t encourage illegal or untrained riding.

C) Attending Your Class (10)

Our range of training bikes includes Honda Grom 125cc, Kawasaki Eliminators 125cc, Kawasaki V-Star 250cc, and Suzuki GZ 250cc.

Occasionally a student will come to class who doesn’t feel comfortable on our training bikes because of height or fitment issues (e.g. their legs are too short, or too long, or their hands get tired because they’re too small, or they are using different muscles). Very rarely are our training motorcycles too tall or too small for the student. We use 125cc and 250cc motorcycles.

The shortest student we have trained was 4’6″ and weighed approximately 88 pounds.  The tallest was approximately 7’4″ and weighed 450 lbs.  Both of these students completed the course successfully on our training bikes. We use motorcycles with the lowest seat heights available and the lightest weights available.

If you are concerned about sitting comfortably on one of our training bikes please visit any of our dealer partners to sit on a comparable motorcycle before enrolling in our class, or contact us.  We can try and arrange an onsite visit during a class so you can sit on a motorcycle.

Students unable to keep pace with the class or who pose a hazard to themselves or others may be dismissed from the class by the coach.

There will be no refunds, pro-rated or in full, should a student be dismissed by the coach.

Please understand that these courses have group learning format that limits the ability of the instructors to provide individual instructions to students. These courses are mentally and physically demanding, and weather conditions can increase the stress on students.    

Please read our Refund and Cancellation policy.

See our Refund and Cancellation policy if you are unable to attend the course at all.

See our What if I get counseled out of a course FAQ if your instructor has counseled you out.

Please understand we are restricted by Texas Department of Public Safety and Motorcycle Safety Foundation rules and regulations as to what we can do if you are not able to complete the course for reasons other than those above.

Under Title III of ADA requirements, we want to let you know that we will make every reasonable accommodation to any ASL interpreter you provide. However, we cannot assume the undue financial burden of hiring an ASL interpreter as it would severely alter the nature of the service we provide. The Motorcycle Safety Foundation may have grant money to offset the cost to you and other area schools may provide services more to your liking than we can provide at this time.

Please call our office to discuss resources we can share with you.

Classes go on rain or shine, hot or cold! (unless Total Rider cancels class due to severe weather). Dress appropriately, wind and rain can make temperatures seem much colder. On hot days black clothes absorb sunlight so avoid those if possible. Read your confirmation email as it contains important information on what to wear.

Our instructors will delay or cancel a riding class if necessary. Typically we never cancel the classroom portion of your training. However, the coach must delay the class in the event of lightning or other severe temporary conditions until it is safe to begin again. If you leave the riding area and the class was not canceled by the coach you forfeit your tuition fee and must begin the class from the beginning.

Also, review our refund and cancellation policy.

Yes, we do have loaner helmets students may use… however, we only have a limited number of sizes, and can’t guarantee our helmets will offer a proper fit. We strongly recommend bringing your own helmet. Inexpensive, 3/4 or full-face style helmets can be purchased at local motorcycle shops. TR doesn’t recommend half helmets, tho. 🙂

No, Total Rider does not provide scooters at this time.

What a great idea!  Sure you can… just point your browser here.

Please be aware there is a written test at the end of the classroom portion on day 1 in which you must score 80% or better. A failure of any part of the course results in a failure of the entire course.

D) Booking Your Class (6)

If you are under 18 years of age: As a minor, you must have a valid learner’s permit or driver’s license to take our courses. In addition, participants under 18 years of age must have medical consent and course waiver forms signed by a parent or guardian in person at the training location or the forms must be notarized.

*PDF files will open in a new window.

Yes, effective September 1, 2009, a law passed that required successful completion of an MSF Basic RiderCourse*. This applies to all riders 18 years of age and older or if you held a motorcycle license which has since lapsed.

If you are under 18 years of age: as a minor, you must have a valid learner’s permit or driver’s license to take our courses. In addition, participants under 18 years of age must have medical consent and course waiver forms signed by a parent or guardian in person at the training location in front of the coach or the forms must be notarized.

PDF files will open in a new window.

If you have a motorcycle with a “J” or “K” restriction you may take the motorcycle on-cycle skill test at your local Driver License office instead of taking the Course.

For exact verbiage of the statute, read Texas Transportation Code §521.148

*Note, we now offer a one-day class to getting your motorcycle license IF you are an experienced rider. It is called the BRC2uLW (we didn’t make up the name). You can read about it here.

We do not take deposits for classes.  Classes must be paid-in-full at the time of booking.

No, Total Rider does not provide scooters at this time.

As of February 2017 we now accept PayPal as a way of paying for your course, in addition to credit and debit cards.

Total Rider does not accept cash or checks at its classrooms or range locations.  Our coaches are not allowed to accept cash or checks.

Our preferred payment method is credit, debit card or PayPal via our website.

Uncategorized (2)

On May 22, 2015, the Governor signed SB449 which created a new definition for an autocycle in Texas. The bill became effective immediately. Below are some common questions regarding the new autocycle registration, licensing and operation in Texas. In addition, the Motorcycle Safety Unit in ETR regulates and sets rules for motorcycle training in Texas and publishes information on motorcycle, autocycle and ATV definitions and requirements chart for your review and dissemination.

What is the definition of an autocycle?

The definition of an autocycle is: “autocycle” means a motor vehicle, other than a tractor, that is:

(1) designed to have when propelled not more than three wheels on the ground;

(2) equipped with a steering wheel;

(3) equipped with seating that does not require the operator to straddle or sit astride the seat; and

(4) manufactured and certified to comply with federal safety requirements for a motorcycle.

What type of driver license is required for an autocycle?

SB449 amends TRC Chapter 521 where an autocycle can be operated on a Class C license. This is because an autocycle is stable, has a steering wheel, and uses the traditional throttle and brakes like a motor vehicle does.

What type of license plate is on an autocycle?

For purposes of titling, registration, and inspection an autocycle will be considered a motorcycle. This is because the autocycle cannot meet the definition of a motor vehicle as required by federal statutes (airbag, crash ratings, enclosed, etc). The autocycle can meet the federal definition of a motorcycle as built so that is why the manufacturer can issue a certificate for a motorcycle.

Do riders of an autocycle need to wear a helmet?

Yes, SB449 amends the helmet section requiring a helmet. The standard exemption from the helmet requirement of having sufficient insurance also applies to an autocycle. Peace officers cannot stop a motorcycle or autocycle for the sole purpose of determining if a rider is in compliance with this section.

The autocycle is equipped with a safety restraint system, are riders required to wear the safety restraint system?

State law does not require riders to put on the restraint system, but riders should comply with the manufacturer’s suggestions for safe operation.

Does an autocycle have to have footrests and handholds like a motorcycle?

No, SB449 exempts the autocycle from the footrest and handhold requirement.

Can a child ride in an autocycle?

SB449 amends section TRC 545.416 to state that passengers may only ride in the seat of an autocycle and an operator may not carry another person in an autocycle unlessthat person is at least 5 years old.

What are the rules of the road for a motorcycle such as speed limit and lane operation?

The autocycle must be operated in the same manner as a regular motor vehicle for purposes of TRC Subtitle C Rules of The Road.

What does an autocycle look like?

Here is one example of a vehicle that meets the current definition:

Autocycle example

Additional information on the Motorcycle Safety Program can be found at

http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/msb/documents/VDRchart.pdf

If it has been less than 4 years since you took our course then we can replace your MSB-8 certificate for a $10 fee. Please visit our Lost MSB-8 Certificate Replacement Request page to get started.

If it’s been longer then you’ll need to contact TX DPS by browsing to http://dps.texas.gov/msb/msbfaqs.htm, then scroll down to #8 where you will find more information on how to obtain a replacement certificate.

Load More